Normal school allowance

Learn about the normal school allowance, which you will be paid if you are a principal or teacher employed at a ‘normal’ or ‘model’ school.

Level of compliance Main audience Other


  • Principals and Tumuaki
  • Teachers and Kaiako
  • Boards

About normal schools

Under section 193 of the Education and Training Act 2020 certain primary schools are designated as ‘normal’ or ‘model’ schools.

Section 193: Education and Training Act 2020 – NZ Legislation(external link)

These schools are specifically used for teacher training and in the past were usually associated with a teacher training college.

Primary principals and teachers

If you are a primary principal or teacher at an eligible normal or model school, you will receive an allowance of $2,000 per annum.

The allowance is set out in your collective agreements.

Clause 6.2.1 – Primary Principals’ Collective Agreement

Clause 3.20 – Primary Teachers’ Collective Agreement

Eligible schools

1211 Auckland Normal Intermediate
1695 Berkley Normal Middle School
2418 Central Normal School
2353 College Street Normal School
3334 Elmwood Normal School
1270 Epsom Normal School
3740 George Street Normal School
3372 Heaton Normal Intermediate
1739 Hillcrest Normal School
2874 Karori Normal School
2875 Karori West Normal School
2876 Kelburn Normal School 
1781 Knighton Normal School
1378 Mt Eden Normal School
3783 North East Valley Normal School
1423 Papakura Normal School
2972 Raroa Normal Intermediate
1940 Silverdale Normal School
1516 Sunnybrae Normal School
3839 Tahuna Normal Intermediate
1524 Takapuna Normal Intermediate
2826 Clifton Terrace Model School
3397 Kirwee Model School
2894 Makara Model School
1843 Newstead Model School
3464 Ouruhia Model School
2419 Palmerston North Intermediate
1976 Tamahere Model Country School
3602 Yaldhurst Model School

Last reviewed: Has this been useful? Give us your feedback