Advanced classroom expertise teacher allowance

Learn about the advanced classroom expertise teacher allowance, which recognises exemplary practice in primary classrooms.

Level of compliance Main audience Other


  • Teachers and Kaiako
  • Boards

There will be no ACET allowance in 2024.

Eligibility criteria

Up to 800 primary teachers who meet the following eligibility criteria described below can be recognised as a teacher with advanced classroom expertise (ACET). The allowance is $5,000 per annum.

To be considered for recognition as an ACET you must:

  • be a fully registered permanent teacher with a classroom teaching load of at least 0.8 FTTE in a state or state-integrated New Zealand primary school
  • hold no more than 1 permanent unit
  • have at least 6 years' classroom teaching experience in a New Zealand state or state-integrated school
  • have been at the maximum step of your qualification group for 3 consecutive years in a New Zealand state or state-integrated school prior to application, with successful attestation against the 'experienced teachers' professional standards (schedule 3 of the collective agreement or the applicable individual employment agreement) in each of those years.

Professional criteria

  1. Your teaching practice must be demonstrably higher than the experienced teacher professional standards.
  2. You must explicitly demonstrate positive outcomes for all learners and particularly in meeting the needs of students identified as priority learners in government policy.
  3. You must also demonstrate:
    • exemplary use of evidence and research to inform practice
    • leadership in developing practice among your peers
    • exemplary engagement with whānau in improving outcomes for their children
    • exemplary ongoing professional learning and development.


You can nominate yourself for the ACET category or your principal can nominate you.

Your principal must endorse your nomination.

Last reviewed: Has this been useful? Give us your feedback