TESSOL further study awards

Learn about TESSOL (Teaching English in Schools to Speakers of Other Languages) further study awards, including who’s eligible to apply.

Level of compliance Main audience Other


  • Educators, teachers and kaiako
  • ESOL teachers
  • SENCOs and learning support coordinators
  • RTLB
  • Principals and tumuaki
  • Early learning service managers

About the awards

Teachers in state and state-integrated schools and early learning services can apply for a TESSOL further study award to study at a graduate or postgraduate level.

TESSOL further study awards are not available every year. They will not be awarded in 2024 for study in the second semester of 2024 and the first semester 2025.


You can apply if you:

  • are a New Zealand citizen or New Zealand resident
  • work full-time or part-time in a state-funded school, or early childhood education service
  • are a New Zealand registered teacher in roles including:
    • subject and class teachers
    • teachers of bilingual classes
    • specialist ESOL teachers
    • members of the senior leadership team
    • SENCO
    • learning support coordinators
    • RTLB
    • early childhood educators
  • have previously been awarded a Ministry of Education TESSOL scholarship and have successfully completed one year of study or have completed the equivalent courses through self-funded study
  • are intending to undertake study at one of the following institutions:
    • University of Auckland (Faculty of Education)
    • Waikato Institute of Technology
    • Victoria University of Wellington
    • Massey University
    • University of Canterbury (College of Education).

If you are considering study at another institution, email info.esol@education.govt.nz.

These awards don’t cover CELTA or other privately run TESOL courses.

What the award covers

The study award will contribute to the tuition fees for up to 30 credits  to a maximum of $2,500.

The award doesn’t cover student levy, enrolment or textbook fees.

If successful, a payment will be made to the recipient’s school or ECE. If there are additional costs it will be up to the recipient to cover these.

These study awards may not be available on an annual basis. Successful applicants cannot defer their study award.

Recipient responsibilities

The recipient will be responsible for:

  • enrolling in the course/s and beginning the proposed study within 12 months of the award being granted
  • arranging payment (or reimbursement) of the course tuition fees from their school or ECE
  • completing online MOE evaluation form 
  • notifying the ESOL, Migrant and Refugee Education team of any changes in employment as this may affect eligibility.

Last reviewed: Has this been useful? Give us your feedback