The Taranaki-Whanganui-Manawatū region stretches from the west to the lower central area of the North Island. Taranaki includes New Plymouth, Hawera, Stratford and Eltham. Palmerston North is Manawatū’s main centre, with the region also including Bulls, Dannevirke, Feilding and Marton. It is comprised of 11 education catchments.

Size and growth

Overall the Taranaki-Whanganui-Manawatū region is considered to be experiencing steady growth.

Education network plans

There are nine education network plans (outside the highest growth catchments) in the Taranaki-Whanganui-Manawatū region.

See the Taranaki-Whanganui-Manawatū region education network plans here.

Catchment Plans within the National Education Growth Plan

The Taranaki-Whanganui-Manawatū region has two individual catchment plans within the National Education Growth Plan.

See the Taranaki-Whanganui-Manawatū region catchment plans here.

Have a say

Our communities are changing all the time. When we work with School Boards to come up with options to meet the demand of students in particular areas, we look at the whole network rather than individual schools.

Join the conversation

  • Linton Country SchoolRecently, the Associate Minister of Education has advised that Linton Country School is formally in a process of consultation over its potential closure. For more information and to share your views, see the Ministry's consultation hub(external link). Consultation closes at the end of August.
  • Find out what consultation on enrolment schemes is happening in your region.

To participate in other Ministry consultations see the Consultation hub(external link).

Last reviewed: Has this been useful? Give us your feedback