Canterbury-Chatham Islands

Canterbury-Chatham Islands covers the central-eastern part of the South Island and includes Christchurch, New Zealand’s third largest city. Smaller towns and cities such as Timaru, Ashburton, Rangiora, Rolleston, Lincoln, Kaikoura and Twizel are also spread throughout the region. The Chatham Islands are located about 800km east of Christchurch. The region is comprised of 16 education catchments.

Size and growth

Following the 2010 and 2011 earthquakes, there has been rapid growth in some areas of Christchurch. The population of Selwyn District is expected to increase from 58,000 in 2018 to 81,000 in 2030. High growth is expected in Halswell and Rolleston, and steady growth in Lincoln and Ashburton.

Education network plans

There are 12 education network plans (outside the highest growth catchments) in the Canterbury-Chatham Islands region.

Canterbury-Chatham Islands region education network plans

Catchment plans within the National Education Growth Plan

The Canterbury, Chatham Islands region has four individual catchment plans within the National Education Growth Plan.

Canterbury, Chatham Islands region catchment plans

Have a say

Our communities are changing all the time. When we work with School Boards to come up with options to meet the demand of students in particular areas, we look at the whole network rather than individual schools.

Join the conversation

Find out what consultation on enrolment schemes is happening in your region.

Consultation on enrolment schemes

To participate in other Ministry consultations, visit the Consultation hub.

Consultation hub(external link)

Last reviewed: Has this been useful? Give us your feedback