Hawke's Bay-Tairāwhiti

Hawke’s Bay-Tairāwhiti is on the East Coast of the North Island and includes Wairoa District, Hastings District, Central Hawke’s Bay District and Napier City Councils. Napier, Hastings and Gisborne are the region’s main cities, with other towns including Havelock North, Wairoa, Waipawa and Waipukurau. It is comprised of 7 education catchments.

Size and growth

There are 23 iwi authorities, around 88 hapū and 68 marae within the Hawke’s Bay region. Māori represent 23 percent of the region’s total population. Havelock North is a key catchment where steady growth is expected.

Education network plans

There are 6 education network plans (outside the highest growth catchments) in the Hawke’s Bay-Tairāwhiti region.

Hawke’s Bay-Tairāwhiti region education network plans

Catchment Plans within the National Education Growth Plan

The Hawke’s Bay–Tairāwhiti region has 1 catchment plan within the National Education Growth Plan.

Hawke’s Bay–Tairāwhiti region catchment plan

Have a say

Our communities are changing all the time. When we work with school boards to come up with options to meet the demand of students in particular areas, we look at the whole network rather than individual schools.

Join the conversation

Find out what consultation on enrolment schemes is happening in your region.

Consultation on enrolment schemes

To participate in other Ministry consultations, visit the Consultation hub(external link).

Last reviewed: Has this been useful? Give us your feedback