The Waikato is in the upper North Island. It is the fourth largest region in New Zealand. It covers the Waikato District, Hauraki, Coromandel Peninsula, the northern King Country, and parts of the Taupo and Rotorua Districts. It is comprised of 14 education catchments.

Size and growth

The region has experienced significant growth over the last decade. Hamilton City’s population is predicted to grow from 168,000 in 2018 to 198,000 in 2030. The region includes the high growth catchments of Hamilton West, Hamilton East, Cambridge and Te Kauwhata.

Education network plans

There are 10 education network plans (outside the highest growth catchments) in the Waikato region.

Waikato region education network plans

Catchment plans within the National Education Growth Plan

The Waikato region has 4 individual catchment plans within the National Education Growth Plan.

Waikato region catchment plans

Have a say

Our communities are changing all the time. When we work with school boards to come up with options to meet the demand of students in particular areas, we look at the whole network rather than individual schools.

Join the conversation

Find out what consultation on enrolment schemes is happening in your region.

Consultation on enrolment schemes

To participate in our other consultations, visit our Consultation hub.

Consultation hub(external link)

Last reviewed: Has this been useful? Give us your feedback