Otago-Southland is a large area in the southernmost part of New Zealand. Its major centres include Invercargill, Dunedin, Oamaru, Balclutha, Alexandra and Cromwell, and major tourist areas are Queenstown, Wanaka, Arrowtown and the Catlins. It is comprised of 11 education catchments.

Size and growth

Queenstown-Lakes and Central Otago Districts were among the fastest growing territorial authorities in New Zealand in the year ending June 2018. Recent growth in the Wanaka catchment exceeded Statistics NZ projections. Wanaka and Wakatipu Basin are considered high growth catchments.

Education network plans

There are 9 education network plans (outside the highest growth catchments) in the Otago-Southland region.

Otago-Southland region education network plans

Catchment plans within the National Education Growth Plan

The Otago-Southland region has 2 individual catchment plans within the National Education Growth Plan.

Otago-Southland region catchment plans

Have a say

Our communities are changing all the time. When we work with school boards to come up with options to meet the demand of students in particular areas, we look at the whole network rather than individual schools.

Join the conversation

Find out what consultation on enrolment schemes is happening in your region.

Consultation on enrolment schemes

To participate in other Ministry consultations, visit the Consultation hub.

Consultation hub(external link)

Last reviewed: Has this been useful? Give us your feedback