The Wellington region is comprised of 17 education catchments. The region covers the southernmost end of the North Island and includes New Zealand’s capital city, as well as territorial authorities Hutt City, Porirua, Upper Hutt City, and Kāpiti Coast, South Wairarapa, Carterton, Masterton and Tararua Districts.

Size and growth

Since 2001, the Kāpiti Coast District population has grown by about 15% and it’s expected to continue growing from 52,000 in 2018 to 63,000 in 2043. Overall, the Wellington region is experiencing a mix of high, complex and steady growth.

Education Network Plans

There are 15 education network plans (outside the highest growth catchments) in the Wellington region.

Wellington region education network plans

Catchment plans within the National Education Growth Plan

The Wellington region has 2 individual catchment plans within the National Education Growth Plan.

Wellington region catchment plans

Have a say

Our communities are changing all the time. When we work with school boards to come up with options to meet the demand of students in particular areas, we look at the whole network rather than individual schools.

Find out what consultation on enrolment schemes is happening in your region.

Consultation on enrolment schemes

To participate in other Ministry consultations, visit the Education Consultation hub.

Education Consultation hub(external link)

Last reviewed: Has this been useful? Give us your feedback