Bay of Plenty-Waiariki

The Bay of Plenty-Waiariki region covers the northeastern coast of New Zealand’s North Island, from the Coromandel Peninsula in the west to Cape Runaway in the east. It is comprised of 10 education catchments. Tauranga, Rotorua and Whakatane are its main urban centres, with Ōtumoetai, Pāpāmoa, Mount Maunganui, Waihi, Katikati, Maketu, Pukehina Beach and Ōpōtiki some of its smaller settlements.

Size and growth

The Bay of Plenty–Waiariki region is expected to experience a mix of high, complex and steady growth over the next 10 years.

Education network plans

There are seven education network plans (outside the highest growth catchments) in the Bay of Plenty-Waiariki region. 

Bay of Plenty-Waiariki region education network plans

Catchment plans within the National Education Growth Plan

The Bay of Plenty-Waiariki region has 3 individual catchment plans within the National Education Growth Plan.

Bay of Plenty-Waiariki region catchment plans

Have a say

Our communities are changing all the time. When we work with School Boards to come up with options to meet the demand of students in particular areas, we look at the whole network rather than individual schools.

Join the conversation

Find out what consultation on enrolment schemes is happening in your region.

Consultation on enrolment schemes

To participate in other Ministry consultations, see the Consultation hub.

Consultation hub(external link)

Last reviewed: Has this been useful? Give us your feedback