Attendance Services

Learn about Attendance Services, who can assist schools to effectively manage attendance and reduce unjustified absence rates.

Level of compliance Main audience Other


  • Principals and Tumuaki
  • Teachers and Kaiako
  • Boards
  • Parents, Caregivers and Whānau

Sections 36, 48, 49 and 242 of the Education and Training Act 2020 state that every school board must take all reasonable steps to make sure that students attend school when it is open. This relates to the legal responsibilities and national guidelines for schools on attendance.

About Attendance Services

The Attendance Service is a national service. The Ministry contracts providers to deliver the service throughout New Zealand.

The Attendance Service primarily works with students aged from six up to 16 years old.

The Attendance Service may also work with any child, older or younger, who is enrolled but has not been attending school. We aim to support schools to:

  • effectively manage attendance
  • reduce unjustified absence rates and non-enrolment
  • reduce the time taken to return students to education.

The Attendance Services' vision is: Every student attending school every day, as a foundation for engagement in learning and achievement. 

Student attendance, along with effective teaching, has the greatest influence on student engagement and achievement.

How to make absence referrals to the Attendance Services

To make absence referrals to the Attendance Services, you’ll need to use the Attendance Service Application (ASA).

Once a referral is generated in ASA, it goes straight to the service provider who will allocate the referral to an Attendance Advisor or Kaiawhina for action.

Non-enrolment notifications — Guide to using ENROL

Apply for access to the Attendance Service Application

List of attendance service providers by region

Training for schools in managing attendance

Our Training Services team run online training in managing attendance for school leaders and administration staff.

If you haven’t yet received an email invite to online training email:

List of Attendance Service providers by region

Your school should have heard from your service provider already. If you haven’t, use this list to find one.

2022 Service providers

Service area

Te Tai Tokerau Attendance Service


National Urban Māori Authority – Waipareira Trust

Auckland North

Auckland City Education Services

Auckland Central

Unjustified Absence referrals only:

  • Ōtāhuhu Intermediate School- Engagement Workers in Schools
  • Greenmeadows Intermediate AS – Manurewa Cluster
  • Pukekohe Intermediate AS – Franklin Cluster
  • Tuakau College AS – North Waikato Cluster
  • Kereru Park Campus AS – Papakura Cluster
  • Howick Primary School AS – Howick Cluster

Non-enrolled referrals only:

  • New Zealand Blue Light Ventures

South Auckland

National Urban Māori Authority – Te Kohao Health


Central King Country REAP AS


Te Kuiti High School AS

Te Kuiti (Waitomo)

Tokoroa Council of Social Services

Tokoroa (South Waikato)

CAPS Haruaki Inc

Thames - Coromandel

Starfish Social Services


Te Awamutu AS

Te Awamutu

Tauranga Moana AS

Tauranga - Katikati

Papamoa College AS


Te Puke Attendance Service

Te Puke

Mount Maunganui College AS

Mount Maunganui

Rotorua Boys’ High School AS


Tauhara College AS

Taupō – Turangi

Whakatāne Kāhui Ako Attendance Service


Pūtauaki ki Rangitāiki Attendance Service


Ashbrook School


Te Taiwhenua o Te Whanganui-a-Orotū


Te Taiwhenua o Tamatea

Central Hawke's Bay

Te Runanganui o Ngati Porou

Kaiti - East of Gisborne

Tiaki Mai Attendance Service


Te Taiwhenua ki te Wairoa


Te Taiwhenua o Heretaunga

Hawke's Bay - Wairarapa

Waitara High School - Waitara Schools AS


New Plymouth Girls' High School - Central New Plymouth AS

Central New Plymouth

Spotswood College - West New Plymouth AS

West New Plymouth

Inglewood High School - Te Kāhui Ako o Kōhanga Moa AS


Stratford High School - Te Kāhui Ako o Taranaki Mohoao AS


Opunake School - Ōpunake Schools AS


Hawera Primary School - South Taranaki Hawera AS


Datacom Services Limited - ecase Attendance Service


Datacom Services Limited - ecase Attendance Service

Manawatū - Horowhenua

Life to the Max, Horowhenua Trust

Levin (Horowhenua)

Te Rūnanga o Toa Rangatira Incorporated


Te Rūnanga o Toa Rangatira Incorporated

Upper Hutt

Taita College AS

Lower Hutt

Porirua College AS


Paraparaumu College AS

Paraparaumu – Otaki

Te Ora Hou Otautahi

Nelson - Marlborough - West Coast

Te Ora Hou Otautahi


Datacom Services Limited - ecase Attendance Service

Otago - Southland

Last reviewed: Has this been useful? Give us your feedback