Rebuilding Christchurch Schools

The Government is investing over $1.654 billion in the Christchurch Schools Rebuild (CSR) programme to rebuild and repair 115 schools in greater Christchurch following the 2010 and 2011 earthquakes.

The Christchurch Schools Rebuild (CSR) programme began in 2013 and so far the Ministry of Education has refurbished, rebuilt or built 86 new schools, benefiting around 52,000 students. The remaining schools in the programme are planned to be completed through 2025. Service delivery arrangements of two schools, Chisnallwood Intermediate and Ko Taku Reo, are currently under consideration and delivery programmes are yet to be determined.

The programme is planned to finish in 2025.

While new and refurbished buildings are the visible part of renewal, what we’re ultimately building is better futures for our students and our communities. Infrastructure is the means to this end – building modern, flexible, digitally-connected facilities which support collaborative learning and new teaching methods.

Progress to date

The CSR programme is now in its tenth year. As at August 2023:

  • 86 schools are complete
  • 22 are in construction
  • 5 schools are in various stages of planning and design
  • 2 are yet to enter the programme. 

Project status by school [DOCX, 112 KB]

New and redeveloped schools

At the end of the programme, greater Christchurch will have one of the most modern schooling networks in the country, which will serve as a platform for student learning well into the future.

The new and redeveloped schools are future focused to respond to the needs of today’s learnings and are able to efficiently accommodate changes in teaching and learning over time.

Below is a selection of schools that are complete.

Completed schools

Linwood (Te Aratai) College

Haeata Community Campus

Lyttelton Primary School

Rāwhiti School 

Waitākiri Primary School

Halswell School

Marshland School

Pegasus Bay School

Rolleston College

West Rolleston Primary School

Opportunity to enhance education across greater Christchurch

A strong education system is vital for the renewal of greater Christchurch and the Education Renewal Programme(external link) builds on the best of existing practice along with the development of new approaches to teaching and learning.

The significant investment in the Christchurch Schools Rebuild programme offers a unique opportunity to strengthen the delivery of education in the region. The focus is on delivering better outcomes for all learners, providing for diversity and choice, and reflecting the aspirations and values of local communities is supported by the physical buildings.

Schools themselves determine how learning spaces are configured to meet their needs, with a school-led Education Brief ensuring the design and build align with their education vision. Grow Waitaha(external link) was also established to assist schools in post-earthquake Canterbury through educational transformation.

Christchurch students are learning in modern, flexible and digitally connected classrooms, teachers are using the most modern technology. Schools are working together, more closely connected with their communities, providing students with flexible, personalised learning options.

Building back in Christchurch

We’re building back better, stronger and smarter in Christchurch.

In key areas, we set standards for our new builds and school upgrades above the minimum required by the New Zealand Building code. Our new school buildings consider low-damage design. This means our schools are more resilient in earthquakes and can be readily used after a significant earthquake, similar to the design of civil defence level buildings required for post emergency response.

Services like water and sewerage are designed to stay connected and we have additional bracing requirements, including the use of newer technology such as removable links to absorb movement.

These additional design requirements protect the main building structure and all the other elements like the building cladding, ceilings and windows, even in a significant earthquake.

Everything we’ve learnt has been captured in our structural and geotechnical requirements that designers and engineers must meet when designing and building our schools. They’re championed by our independent Engineering Strategy Group, made up of external leading New Zealand engineers and experts.

Use of former school sites

As schools move into their new or repaired schools, some school sites have become vacant. Some of this land will be used for future education purposes and some will be sold (put into disposal).

Use of former school sites

Last reviewed: Has this been useful? Give us your feedback