ENROL privacy information
This important information about protecting student privacy is for school and DHB ENROL users.
Protecting the privacy of students
Privacy is critical to the ENROL system. To protect that privacy, it's important that you never share your user login or password.
You can use ENROL for enrolment purposes only. For example, you can't use it to look up where your friends' children go to school or any past students at your school.
ENROL keeps track of whenever you look up the details of a student who isn't enrolled at your school.
Most of the student's details can be seen only by the school where the student is enrolled. Other schools can see only the student's name, date of birth, National Student Number and enrolment history.
Access to ENROL is tightly controlled. Some staff in the Ministry and Vision and Hearing technicians at DHBs can access parts of ENROL.
For extra privacy, you can tick 'Keep information private' on the Student details screen. This is to protect the student's privacy where, for example:
- there's a protection or restraining order
- if the principal believes the student could be at risk.
If the box is ticked, it means only the current school can see the student’s address and no other school can see the student's enrolment history (including their current enrolment). ENROL keeps track of whenever someone looks up details of a student.
Last reviewed: Has this been useful? Give us your feedback