The Content — what’s changed?

What’s changed in the New Zealand Curriculum?

The Technology Learning Area in the New Zealand Curriculum now clearly outlines the expectations for learning in Digital Technologies.

Two new technological areas have been introduced:

1. Computational thinking for digital technologies — computational thinking enables a student to express problems, and formulate solutions in a way that means a computer (an information processing agent) can be used to solve them.

2. Designing and developing digital outcomes — students understand that digital applications and systems are created for humans by humans. They develop increasingly sophisticated understandings and skills related to designing and producing quality, fit for purpose, digital outcomes.

What’s changed in Te Marautanga o Aotearoa?

The Hangarau Wāhanga Ako in Te Marautanga o Aotearoa has now been revised to include two tupuranga in Hangarau Matihiko.

These 2 tupuranga are named:

  • Te Whakaaro Rorohiko, and
  • Te Tangata me Te Rorohiko.

These integrate the essential elements of te reo Māori me ōna tikanga, digital citizenship and computational thinking.

Last reviewed: Has this been useful? Give us your feedback