Round 3 - Partnership Schools Applications Phase

This section includes documents relating to the release of the Request for Application to operate a Partnership School opening in 2017, and the applications that were received, and considered by the Authorisation Board.

On 14 August 2015 the Ministry of Education released the Request for Applications for potential sponsors of Partnership Schools opening in 2017. The application period closed on 30 October 2015. Twenty-six compliant applications were received.

Successful applications were able to demonstrate commitment, experience and expertise in raising the educational aspirations and results of Māori and Pasifika students, students from low socio-economic backgrounds, and students with special education needs.

While all high quality proposals were considered, priority was to be given to new Partnership Schools with provision aligning to the following seven preference factors:

  1. Make effective use of the flexibilities offered by the model
  2. Offer effective, innovative options for 0-8 year olds
  3. Are large enough to be comfortably (economically) viable
  4. Are located in an area or areas where there are students who are not being well served by the education system
  5. Bring together education, business and/or community sector partnership(s)
  6. Have a focus on science, technology, engineering and mathematics
  7. Are not from existing private schools seeking to convert to a Partnership School.

Funding for the third round of Partnership Schools | Kura Hourua was considered as part of Budget 2015.

The Partnerships Schools approved from the third round of applications open in the beginning of 2017.

Information Withheld

Information has been withheld from these documents to protect personal privacy, and where its release would unreasonably prejudice a person’s or an organisations commercial position. Some applications also contain page numbering breaks as withheld Curriculum Vitae and financial documents have been removed to reduce file size.

In this section

Application documents: Key documents relating to the application process.

Two Sponsors have been selected to open Partnership Schools in 2017, following the third round of applications. They are:

  • Kia Ata Mai Educational Trust (Hamilton)
  • Te Aratika Trust (Hawke’s Bay)

The following organisations applied through this round:


  • Alliance Health Plus
  • Central Pacific Collective and Te Runanga o Toa Rangatira
  • Kia Ata Mai Educational Trust
  • Te Aratika Trust
  • Te Whanau o Waipareira

Here you can find the shortlisted applications

Not shortlisted

  • Bay of Plenty Children's Education Charitable Trust
  • Davidic Centre
  • First Community Trust
  • Nga Tamariki Puawai Charter Schools Limited
  • Out and About Life Education Trust (Manurewa)
  • Out and About Life Education Trust (North Shore)
  • Pacific Innovations NZ Trust
  • Pacific Peoples Advancement Trust
  • Paradigm Shift Rangatahi Limited
  • Port Nicholson Settlement Trust
  • Te Kohao Health
  • Te Runanga o Turanganui a kiwa
  • Te Runanga o Whaingaroa
  • Te Taiea Trust
  • Te Waii Uu Whanau Trust
  • The Summit Academy Limited
  • Train the Brain
  • Waipiro Bay Whanau Charitable Trust
  • West Fono Health Trust
  • Whakaoho Te Hinengaro Charitable Trust
  • Whakawātea Kaporeihana.

Last reviewed: Has this been useful? Give us your feedback