2020 Accord teacher-only days for secondary schools and wharekura

In an Accord between the Ministry of Education, NZEI Te Riu Roa and PPTA Te Wehengarua, a Secondary Accord Sub-Group has been established to co-design and support the implementation of 8 additional teacher-only days.

All schools and kura have been allocated 8 additional teacher-only days to use between now and the end of 2022. These 8 days will not extend the school year.

These days are set aside to support the implementation of changes to NCEA, and wider strengthening of curriculum, progress and achievement practice.

Due to the impact of COVID-19, the Accord Sub-Group, along with the Secondary Principals’ Association of New Zealand (SPANZ), and New Zealand Secondary Principals’ Council (SPC), have agreed to make the following changes to the yearly allocation:

  • there will be no teacher-only day in August 2020
  • there will be a teacher-only day in November 2020 which will occur while senior students (Years 11, 12 and 13) are sitting their external exams
  • the focus of the teacher-only day in November will focus on changes to NCEA (details will be confirmed closer to the time)
  • the teacher-only day originally scheduled for August 2020 will now be used in 2022. This means that the 8 days will now be allocated as follows: 1 day scheduled for 2020, 3 for 2021, and 4 for 2022.

The Accord Sub-Group will provide supporting material and support for all days including November 2020 days.

As schools begin to plan for 2021, the Sub-Group understand it is important to provide the 2021 dates to schools at the earliest opportunity.    

Schools should continue to plan their existing teacher-only days as before. 

More information

2022 Accord teacher-only days for secondary schools and wharekura

2021 Accord teacher-only days for secondary schools and wharekura

Last reviewed: Has this been useful? Give us your feedback