Guide to using ENROL
ENROL is a register of student enrolments. It lets schools update enrolments as students enrol, change schools or leave the school system.
All schools must use it.
Things to know about privacy
Privacy is critical to the ENROL system. To protect that privacy it’s important that you never share your user login or password.
You can use ENROL for enrolment purposes only. For example, you can't use it to look up where your friends’ children go to school or any past students at your school.
ENROL keeps track of whenever you look up the details of a student who isn't enrolled at your school.
Most of the student’s details can be seen only by the school where the student is enrolled. Other schools can see only the student’s name, date of birth, National Student Number and enrolment history.
Access to ENROL is tightly controlled. Some staff in the Ministry and Vision and Hearing technicians at DHBs can access parts of ENROL.
For extra privacy, you can tick 'Keep Information Private' in the 'Student Details' screen. This is to protect the student’s privacy, for example, where there's a protection or restraining order. It can also be checked if the principal believes the student could be at risk.
If the box is checked, it means only the current school can see the student’s address and no other school can see the student’s enrolment history (including their current enrolment). ENROL keeps track of whenever someone looks up the student.