Primary Principals' (PPCBU) Collective Agreement

Download this agreement

Note that documents are available in Adobe PDF format only. Accessible versions, where available, can be supplied on request.


If you want a printed copy of this agreement we suggest you download the following PDF version.

Primary Principals' (PPCBU) Collective Agreement [PDF, 885 KB]

Schedule 1: Definition of levels of Māori Immersion

Primary Principals' (PPCBU) Collective Agreement
Effective: 1 December 2022 to 1 May 2025

  • Definition of Levels of Māori Immersion
    • Level 1: Maintenance Programmes (81% to 100% Immersion)

      • Te reo Māori is the principal language of communication and
      • The principal curriculum is taught entirely in Māori.

      (It is expected that all students in the programme will interact freely in Māori).

      Level 2: Development Programmes (51% to 80% Immersion)

      • Te reo Māori is, for most of the time, the language of communication and instruction.
      • English is accepted as a temporary language of instruction and
      • There is an agreement between the school and parents that the programme will achieve a particular level of immersion over a specified period of
      • The level of fluency of the teacher will vary considerably, from not very fluent to native-like
      • There is a reliance on Kaiarahi Reo to increase the amount of spoken Māori in the

      (It is expected that not all students in the programme will interact freely in Māori).

      Level 3: Emerging Programmes (31% to 50% Immersion)

      • English is the main language of communication and
      • The teacher can communicate at a basic level of Māori, but has difficulty instructing in Māori.
      • Māori is used as the classroom management
      • An increase in the level of immersion is restricted by the level of fluency of the
      • A Kaiarahi Reo is usually the only fluent speaker in the

      Note: A school which is offering Māori as a subject only would not meet the level 3 Immersion criteria.