Licensing criteria for kōhanga reo

Kōhanga reo run a total immersion te reo Māori whānau (family) programme for mokopuna (young children) from birth to six years of age to be raised within its whānau Māori, where the language of communication will be Māori.

The operation and decision making of each kōhanga reo are the responsibility of the whole whānau within the guidelines set down by Te Kōhanga Reo National Trust Board. The trust and the kōhanga reo whānau administer the kaupapa to ensure the safety and wellbeing of the mokopuna and the whānau and to ensure the survival of te reo Māori.

Kōhanga reo are currently chartered to Te Kōhanga Reo National Trust and licensed by the Ministry of Education under the Education (Early Childhood Services) Regulations 2008.

Education (Early Childhood Services) Regulations 2008(external link)

The Ministry does not provide guidance for the kōhanga reo licensing criteria. Guidance is available upon request directly from Te Kōhanga Reo National Trust.

Contact us – Te Kōhanga Reo National Trust(external link)

A copy of the criteria can be downloaded from the right-hand column.

The licensing criteria were last updated in September 2022.

Children as learners

Criteria for children as learners:

  • C7: Curriculum responsive
    • Curriculum criterion 7

      Te Kōhanga reo curriculum is inclusive and responsive to the mokopuna and their whānau, empowering whānau participation in mokopuna learning.

  • C9: Range of experiences
    • Curriculum Criterion 9

      Te Kōhanga reo curriculum provides a range of indoor and outdoor experiences and opportunities in te reo to enhance and extend the whole development of mokopuna.

  • C10: Behaviour management
    • Curriculum Criterion 10

      Te Kōhanga reo curriculum supports mokopuna developing social competence and understanding of appropriate behaviour.