Panel members appointed for the University Advisory Group

The University Advisory Group members have now been appointed and will begin their work programme. The group will be led by Professor Sir Peter Gluckman and will provide the Government with advice on New Zealand's university system.

The members are from a variety of backgrounds and are highly respected within their fields.

  • Professor Sir Peter Gluckman is chair of the University Advisory Group, as well as chair of the Science System Advisory Group, a paediatrician, director of Koi Tū, and former prime minister’s chief science advisor.
  • Dr Alastair McCormick is a professional director and Emeritus Professor of the University of Auckland. He is currently a commissioner on the Tertiary Education Commission board.
  • Arihia Bennett (Ngāi Tahu, Ngāti Porou, Ngāpuhi) is chair of Kāpuia, the Ministerial Advisory Group on the Christchurch mosques terrorist attack. She was chief executive of Te Rūnanga o Ngāi Tahu.
  • John Allen is chief executive of the Wellington Regional Economic Development Agency (WellingtonNZ) and chancellor of Victoria University Wellington – Te Herenga Waka.
  • Phil O’Reilly is managing director of Iron Duke Partners. He was previously the chair of the Board of Business at OECD and chief executive of Business NZ, as well as a member of the Governing Body of the International Labour Organisation and the APEC Business Advisory Council.
  • Bella Takiari-Brame (Ngāti Maniapoto, Waikato-Tainui) is a professional director. She is currently chair of The Lines Company, director of Te Ohu Kaimoana, and a member of the Accident Compensation Commission (ACC) board and the Crown Infrastructure Partners Ltd board.
  • Sir David Skegg is an epidemiologist and public health physician. He is Emeritus Professor of the University of Otago and was formerly its Vice-Chancellor. He has also served as president of the Royal Society of New Zealand, chair of the Health Research Council and special adviser to Parliament’s COVID-19 Epidemic Response Committee.
  • Dame Paula Rebstock is a consultant and company director/board member of Asia Pacific Healthcare Group, Vector Limited, NAZ Limited, AIA New Zealand and Vector Metering. She was previously chair of the Commerce Commission and ACC, as well as several government reviews and panels.

The group will meet regularly to develop their advice and recommendations.

Find full biographies of each member and the terms of reference for the group on the group's website.

University Advisory Group website(external link)

Last reviewed: Has this been useful? Give us your feedback