Professional development in early learning

Whakapiki i te reo Māori and SELO professional development programmes.

Level of compliance Main audience Other

Inform

  • All Early Learning Services
  • Service Managers
  • Educators, Teachers and Kaiako

Early learning staff who want to engage in professional development may be interested in learning about Whakapiki i te reo Māori and SELO.

Whakapiki i te reo Māori

Whakapiki i te reo Māori is a professional development initiative for teachers who use te reo Māori.

Whakapiki i te reo Māori is available to kaimahi who work in Māori immersion and bilingual early learning services (speaking te reo Māori 51-100% of the time), and aims to strengthen their existing skills and knowledge. It recognises identity, diversity, language and culture as critical ingredients for the success of Māori tamariki in education.

For more information, email: ECE.info@education.govt.nz

SELO

SELO (Strengthening Early Learning Opportunities for children, whānau, families and communities) is a professional development programme to support early learning services. A facilitator will work with management and teachers/educators to support a shift in practice towards high quality management, teaching and learning.

SELO programmes

SELO is grouped into two programmes and a service can receive more than one type of SELO at any time.

  1. Programme 1 provides in-depth professional development to strengthen governance and management practices and to support services to meet the licencing requirements.
  2. Regionally Allocated PLD focuses on community specific professional development to support services to be responsive to identity, language and culture; it targets focus areas within the early learning environment including:
    • Infants and toddlers
    • Curriculum (including Te Aho Tukutuku/early mathematics and early literacy)
    • Māori leadership
    • Pacific leadership
    • Leadership
    • Communities of Learning | Kāhui Ako
    • Digital technology

It is also available for certificated playgroups and for services with children/whānau with additional needs.

Professional development facilitators

We have a group of approved facilitators that can deliver professional development across the country.

We are not currently accepting new facilitators. Opportunities to become one of our approved facilitators will be advertised in early 2022 on New Zealand Government Electronic Tenders Service(external link) website. 

For more information about the process, you can contact our National Office SELO Lead at ece.selo@education.govt.nz

Accessing SELO

Early learning services are welcome to enquire about professional development support.

Early Learning Service Type Contact Information
Kōhanga Reo Please contact your district manager directly:
Te Kōhanga Reo National Trust contacts(external link)
Playcentres Please contact Playcentre Aotearoa directly:
Playcentre Aotearoa(external link)
  • Teacher-led services
  • Certificated playgroups
  • Certificated puna kōhungahunga
  • Home-based services
Please contact your regional Ministry SELO lead (see below).

Regional Ministry SELO leads

Location SELO lead Contact
Tai Tokerau

Christine Lambert

christine.lambert@education.govt.nz
09 436 8936

Auckland

Sarah Morrison

Ngawai Beazley

sarah.morrison@education.govt.nz
09 632 9528

ngawai.beazley@education.govt.nz
09 632 9579

Waikato

Mere Lawson Nuri

Gill Brown

Mere.LawsonNuri@education.govt.nz
07 850 8960

Gill.Brown@education.govt.nz
07 858 7140

Bay of Plenty/Rotorua/Taupo

Gina Royal

Gina.Royal@education.govt.nz
07 349 7383
Hawke's Bay/Tairawhiti

Hana Ruth

Selo.Hbt@education.govt.nz
06 833 6732
Taranaki/Whanganui/Manawatū 

Suzanne Beenen

Nicole Hobbs

suzanne.beenen@education.govt.nz
06 757 6434

Nicole.Hobbs@education.govt.nz
06 349 6310

Wellington

Marnie Hainsworth

Angela Coutts

marnie.hainsworth@education.govt.nz
04 463 7575

angela.coutts@education.govt.nz
04 439 4629

Nelson/Marlborough/West Coast

Megan Hannigan

Jodi Kohu

megan.hannigan@education.govt.nz
03 539 1528

jodi.kohu@education.govt.nz

Canterbury

Paul Habinshuti

paul.habinshuti@education.govt.nz
03 378 7522
Otago/Southland

Julie Crosswell

julie.crosswell@education.govt.nz
03 471 5218

Last reviewed: Has this been useful? Give us your feedback