School terms and holidays for state and integrated schools and kura

School holidays brought forward for 2020

School holidays were brought forward so that they were completed within the 4 week period of Alert level 4 in response to Covid-19.

Term 1 holidays began from Monday 30 March to Tuesday 14 April inclusive (a reminder that the Tuesday after Easter Monday is always a closed day for schools).

At the end of the school holidays, schools were open for distance learning but not physically open for staff or students. Teachers worked offsite.

The number of half days schools are required to be open for has been reduced by 4, given the additional teacher only day on Tuesday 28 April and the movement the of school holidays in relation to Easter resulting in schools losing 4 half days of instruction.

School terms and holidays

The New Zealand school year is usually divided into 4 terms for state and state-integrated schools and kura. There is usually a 2-week break between each of the first 3 terms and a summer holiday at the end of Term 4 of about 6 weeks.

Early learning services (including kindergartens and playcentres) generally follow the same term and holiday dates as state schools. Full time daycare centres are usually open through the school holidays but close for a time over Christmas.

Private schools have greater legislative freedom than state and integrated schools and kura and are able to vary their opening hours and school year.

2020 school terms and holidays

2021 school terms and holidays

2022 school terms and holidays

Download the calendar as an ical file

Further information

2020 school terms and holidays

 Start dateEnd date Holidays    

Term 1 - 9 weeks

Between Monday 27 January (at the earliest); and Friday 7 February (at the latest)

Friday, 27 March (72-88 half days)

 

Public holidays: Waitangi Day.

School holiday: Saturday 28 March - Tuesday 14 April (includes Easter, Easter Tuesday).

Term 2 - 12 weeks

Wednesday 15 April Friday 3 July (110 half days)

Public holiday: ANZAC (observed) 27 April, Queen’s Birthday 1 June

Nationwide Teacher only day Tuesday 28 April

School holiday: Saturday 4 July – Sunday 19 July

Term 3 - 10 weeks

Monday 20 July Friday 25 September (100 half days) School holidays: Saturday 26 September – Sunday 11 October

Term 4 - up to 10 weeks

Monday 12 October

Primary, intermediate and special schools: 
No later than Friday 18 December (98 half days)*

Secondary and composite: 
No later than Wednesday 16 December (94 half days)**

Public holidays: Labour Day, Christmas Day, Boxing Day, New Year's Day

School holiday: 5 or 6 weeks (from school’s closing date until opening date of school the following year)

* Or to a day in December which ensures that the school has been open for instruction for 380 half days in 2020. 
** Or to a day in December which ensures that the school has been open for instruction for 376 half days in 2020.

2021 school terms and holidays

 Start dateEnd dateHolidays
Term 1 – Between 10-11 weeks Between Monday 1 February (at the earliest); and Tuesday 9 February (at the latest) Friday 16 April
(92-102 half-days)

Public holidays: Waitangi Day (observed) Monday 8 February

Easter: Good Friday 2 April, Easter Monday 5 April
and Easter Tuesday 6 April (a school holiday)

School holiday: Saturday 17 April - Sunday 2 May (includes ANZAC day 25 April).

Term 2 - 10 weeks Monday 3 May Friday 9 July (98 half-days)

Public holiday: Queen’s Birthday 7 June

School holiday: Saturday 10 July – Sunday 25 July

Term 3 - 10 weeks Monday 26 July Friday 1 October (100 half-days) School holidays: Saturday 2 October – Sunday 17 October
Term 4 - up to 10 weeks Monday 18 October All schools no later than Monday 20 December (80-90 half-days) *

Public holidays: Labour Day 25 October, Christmas Day, Boxing Day, New Year's Day

School holiday: 5 or 6 weeks (from school’s closing date until opening date of school the following year)

* Or to a day in December which ensures that the school has been open for instruction for a minimum of 380 half-days in 2021.

2022 school terms and holidays

 Start dateEnd dateHolidays
Term 1 – Between 10-11 weeks Between Monday 31 January (at the earliest); and
Tuesday 8 February (at the latest)
Thursday 14 April
(96-106 half-days)

Public holidays: Waitangi Day (observed) Monday 7 February

Easter: Good Friday 15 April

School holidays: Saturday 16 April - Sunday 1 May (includes Easter Monday 18 April, Easter Tuesday 19 April (a school holiday), and ANZAC day Monday 25 April)

Term 2 - 10 weeks Monday 2 May Friday 8 July (98 half-days)

Public holiday: Queen’s Birthday 6 June

School holidays: Saturday 9 July – Sunday 24 July

Term 3 - 10 weeks Monday 25 July Friday 30 September (100 half-days) School holidays: Saturday 1 October – Sunday 16 October
Term 4 - up to 10 weeks Monday 17 October No later than Tuesday 20 December (92 half-days)* Public holidays: Labour Day Monday 24 October, Christmas Day, Boxing Day, New Year's Day

* For primary, intermediate and special schools: or to a day in December which ensures that the school has been open for instruction for a minimum of 386 half-days in 2022.

For secondary and composite schools: or to a day in December which ensures that the school has been open for instruction for 380 half-days in 2022.

Download the calendar as an ical file to your calendar or smartphone

Primary and intermediate school terms and holidays to 2022 [ICS, 30 KB]

Secondary and composite school terms and holidays to 2022 [ICS, 30 KB]

Further information

Last reviewed: Has this been useful? Give us your feedback