Digital Technologies and Hangarau Matihiko learning

Our education system equips children and young people with the skills and knowledge to participate, create and thrive whatever pathway they choose to take.

In response to this fast-evolving world, we have adapted our National Curriculum to now include digital technologies learning.

About Digital Technologies and Hangarau Matihiko (DT and HM) learning

Schools and kura

" "

Digital technologies for English-medium:

Hangarau Matihiko for Māori-medium:

Comprehensive support packages for both mediums:


" "

How we'll equip students with the necessary digital skills to take part, create and thrive in a fast-evolving world.

Parents and whānau

" "

Information for parents about the future digital skills your child will need:

Businesses and employers

" "

Demand for people with digital skills far outstrips supply. The role of the New Zealand education system is critical to address this issue:

Other resources

" "

Factsheets in multiple languages, posters and useful links:

Learn more

" "

Learn more about the changes to the curriculum and what we heard during our public consultation phase:

Watch our introductory video

Watch an introductory video about the new DT and HM curriculum content.

What’s changed?

Technology Learning

In the Technology Learning area of the New Zealand Curriculum, there are two new areas:

  1. Computational Thinking for Digital Technologies: Students will develop an understanding of computer science principles that underlie all digital technologies. They’ll learn core programming concepts so that they can become creators of digital technology, not just users.
  2. Designing and Developing Digital Outcomes: Learning how to design quality, fit-for-purpose digital solutions.

Hangarau Wāhanga Ako of Te Marautanga o Aotearoa

In the Hangarau Wāhanga Ako of Te Marautanga o Aotearoa, there are two new tupuranga.

  1. Te Whakaaro Rorohiko (Computational thinking): Includes using te reo Māori to express problems, formulate solutions and solve them using algorithms, programme and data representation. 
  2. Tangata me te Rorohiko (People and computers): Includes designing and developing digital outcomes while considering their role and responsibility as digital citizens.

Who the curriculum content is for

This curriculum will be available for all students from Year 1-13. Students have the opportunity to specialise from Year 11-13.

We're starting with NCEA Level 1 achievement standards, which will be available for use from 2018. Levels 2 and 3 will be made available from 2019.

By the end of Year 10, all young people should be digitally capable – able to use and create digital technologies to solve problems and give them an advantage whatever pathway they choose to follow.


In Term 1 2020, it's expected that all schools and kura will be teaching the new curriculum content.

Last reviewed: Has this been useful? Give us your feedback