Advisory Group on Charter Schools

Advisory Group 2018 - 30 April 2019:

The primary role of the advisory group was to advise the Minister of Education on the performance of charter or partnership schools kura hourua, while they operated under this model during 2018.

The role of the six member advisory group was to undertake regular monitoring and review of the performance of charter schools and, as requested by the Minister of Education, to provide further advice on other charter school related matters.

The Advisory Group was chaired by Bruce Adin, with Bernardine Vester as deputy chair. The other members are Murray Jack, Te Rau Kupenga, Moe Milne, and Jason Swann.

Bruce Adin QSO (Chair)Bruce Adin has significant management and governance experience in education, having been Northern Regional Manager for the Ministry of Education from 2004-16, overseeing early childhood education and compulsory schooling in the Northland and Auckland regions. He was previously a member of Massey University Council, and chair of Auckland College of Education Council.  Bruce has also worked as a teacher and has significant experience as a school principal, and was awarded a Queen’s Service Order (QSO) for services to education.

Bernardine Vester (Deputy Chair): Bernardine Vester has extensive experience in governance in the education sector. She currently chairs Teach First New Zealand and runs an education consultancy business.  She has served as chair or member on three new school establishment boards in South Auckland, and has worked as a governance facilitator with schools. Bernardine was CE of the former City of Manukau Education Trust from 2000 - 2011.  She is a member of the board of the Contemporary Art Trust, and a member of the steering group for Counties-Manukau District Health Board Grow Your Own Workforce project.

Murray Jack: Murray Jack is the former Chair (2011-14) and Chief Executive (2005-11) of Deloitte New Zealand and has over 30 years’ experience as a management consultant.  He has been involved in a number of independent reviews for Ministers and government agencies. He is chair of Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand, chair of the Financial Markets Authority and chair of Education Payroll Limited.

Te Rau Kupenga: Te Rau Kupenga has a long history of consultancy work on topics ranging from treaty settlement negotiations to strategic planning. He has worked as Raukara/Chief Advisor for Te Ao Māori for the Ministry of Education, and was Deputy Secretary Treaty Negotiations and Relationships at the Ministry for the Environment. He is a barrister and solicitor with extensive legal experience, and is fluent in te reo Māori.  He is a trustee for Nga Taonga Sound and Vision, Eastland Community Trust, and Hayward Films Trust.

Moe Milne ONZM: Moe Milne has worked in health, education, and social services in Northland and has a significant profile in Te Ao Māori and Te Ao Tauiwi with strong Māori skills and ties. She is fluent in te reo me ona tikanga. She is a trustee of Foundation North, and brings skills from her role as an adviser and contractor for Te Rau Matatini and Te Pou o te Whakaaro nui – mental health workforce development.

Jason Swann: Jason Swann is the current president of the New Zealand Pasifika Principals Association and has a long history of working with Pasifika students and in the management and administration of schools. He has been Principal of Otahuhu primary school since 2009 and is on the Board of Trustees of a secondary school.  He has served on Ministry of Education sector reference groups on professional learning and development and Tapasā Cultural Competencies framework for Teachers of Pasifika Learners.

Terms of reference


Fees for members of the Advisory Group on Charter Schools were assessed in accordance with the Cabinet Fees Framework (Cabinet Office Circular 12(6)). The Advisory Group fell within Group 4 (‘All other committees and other bodies’) and was scored at level 2.

Based on this, per diems for members of the Advisory Group ranged from $505.60 -$818 (exclusive of GST).

Members of the Advisory Group were also reimbursed for actual and reasonable travel, meal and accommodation costs.


Advisory Group meeting minutes

Authorisation Board 2013-2018:

The term of the previous Authorisation Board expired on 1 March 2018.

Minutes from Authorisation Board meetings:

Minutes of the meetings held in 2017

Minutes of the meetings held in 2016

Minutes of the meetings held in 2015

Minutes of the meetings held in 2014

Minutes of the meetings held in 2013

Last reviewed: Has this been useful? Give us your feedback