Nominations open for the 2019 Ngā Tohu Reo Māori | National Māori Language Awards

Ngā Tohu Reo Māori, the annual National Māori Language Awards, honour the work of people and organisations contributing to the revitalisation and normalisation of te reo Māori.

About the awards

The awards started in 2004, with 150 nominations and 36 finalists in 2018.

This year there are 16 awards, including a supreme award winner selected by judges from the category award winners.

Our commitment to grow, strengthen and celebrate te reo Māori in education is expressed through our sponsorship of two awards:

Mātauranga - Kaupapa Māori | Education - Māori medium

Any successful initiative promoting te reo Māori within Māori-medium education.

Mātauranga - Whānui | Education - Open

Any successful initiative promoting te reo Māori for any Y1-13 educational activity, whether for Māori medium, or not.

Let’s get nominating!

Do you know of a kōhanga reo, early learning centre, school or kura who delivered a successful initiative this year that promoted te reo Māori, and deserve recognition for their awesome efforts?

Nominate them for a Māori Language Award! Or alternatively encourage them to nominate themselves!

Nominations close on Sunday 10 November.

More information about the awards, and online nomination forms are available at the Te Taura Whiri it te reo Māori website. 

Ngā Tohu Reo Māori | National Māori Language awards 2019(external link)

Last reviewed: Has this been useful? Give us your feedback