Severe weather: schools, early learning services closed

Twelve schools and three early learning services have let us know they will be closed today as a result of the severe weather.

The best information will come from schools themselves and parents and whānau are advised to check their school’s website or Facebook page or contact them directly for the latest information.

The decision to close remains that of the Board of Trustees for schools and Centre Managers/Owners for Early Learning services.  Our support is available if needed.

 List of Schools and ECE provided as at 10am Monday 13 June 


Early Childhood Education Centres

Taranaki, Whanganui, Manawatū

Taranaki, Whanganui, Manawatū

Kiwitea School (2382)

Waituna West Playcentre (52016)

Waituna West School (2475)

Awatuna & Districts Playcentre (50017)

Te Kura o Te Wainui-ā-Rua (559)

Malamalama Moni Aoga Amata EFKS PN (52541)


Te Kōhanga Reo o Ngāti Pātea (52720)



Paremata School (2950)

Paremata Kindergarten (5374)



Aoraki Mt Cook School (3442)


Otago Southland


Makarora School (3767)


Glenorchy School (3955)


Mt Aspiring College (533)


Te Kura o Take Kārara (747)


Wanaka Primary School (1167)


Holy Family School (557)


Hāwea Flat School (3747)




Last reviewed: Has this been useful? Give us your feedback