Educational success celebrated at 2019 PM’s Education Excellence Awards

Five of the finalists in the Awards representing schools, kura and early learning services, were announced as winners at the 2019 Prime Minister’s Education Excellence Awards ceremony held in Wellington on 10 September.

Rotorua Boys’ High School led this year’s winners and took home the biggest award of the night, the Supreme Award.

The other category winners are:



Excellence in Engaging

Holy Family School, Porirua

Excellence in Leading

Rotorua Boys’ High School, Rotorua

Excellence in Teaching and Learning

Te Kōhanga Reo ki Rotokawa, Rotorua

Excellence in Health and Wellbeing Education

Tiaki Early Learning Centre, Rotorua

The 2019 Education Focus Prize – Excellence in Māori-medium Education

Te Kura Kaupapa Māori o Hoani Waititi Marae, Auckland


Ministry of Education Acting Deputy Secretary for Early Learning and Student Achievement, Pauline Cleaver, congratulates all the winners and says they are a testament to the great teaching that’s happening around the country to support learners to succeed.

“Their hard work and dedication to education excellence have changed the lives of children and young people, and will have a lasting impact not just to them, but to their whānau and the community they belong to,” she says.

Each of the category winners received a prize package that includes a $20,000 financial award and professional development opportunities. The Supreme Award winner, Rotorua Boys’ High School received an additional $30,000 and will represent New Zealand at an international education event.

Find out more about what this year’s winners have achieved by heading to the Awards website.

Prime Minister's Education Excellence Awards (external link)

Last reviewed: Has this been useful? Give us your feedback