2020 Prime Minister’s Education Excellence Awards now open for entries

The Prime Minister’s Education Excellence Awards is a great opportunity to recognise, celebrate and share inspiring teaching practices that go above and beyond to support learners to succeed. Entries are now open and will close Friday 10 April 2020.

The Awards are open to all schools, kura and early learning services, around the country to submit an entry. The main award categories are:

  • Excellence in Engaging
  • Excellence in Leading
  • Excellence in Teaching and Learning
  • Excellence in Wellbeing Education

This year’s Education Focus Prize, which changes each year, celebrates Excellence in Environmental and Sustainability Education. This prize celebrates teaching and learning that empowers children and young people to develop critical thinking skills, as they explore the impact that people have on the environment, and to take action for a sustainable future.

Those who are interested can enter more than one category if they wish to.

Ministry of Education Deputy Secretary for Early Learning and Student Achievement Ellen MacGregor-Reid says, “Behind every student’s success is a group of dedicated educators who have worked together, with whānau and the wider community. The Awards is a great platform to shine light on these stories and show how great teaching is making a huge difference.”

“If you know about or are part of a school, kura or early learning service that’s doing great work, we encourage you to share your story by entering the Awards.”

Visit the Awards website for more information and to download the entry form.

Prime Minister’s Education Excellence Awards(external link)

Last reviewed: Has this been useful? Give us your feedback