Working with the education sector on the details of Investing in Educational Success

The Ministry has been working with the sector on the design of this package of initiatives since early 2014. Aspects of Investing in Educational Success (IES) build on strong interest from the sector over a number of years.

The Ministry continues to work closely with representatives from the education sector on the details of IES. Further formal groups have been set up to provide opportunities to be involved.

Settlements with the sector

The Ministry has now settled collective agreements with NZPPTA, NZEI and SPANZ for all state and state integrated school teachers and principals that support the introduction of IES roles. The New Zealand School Trustees Association was also involved in this process.

The collective agreements set out details about the new teacher and leadership roles both working within and across Communities of Learning | Kāhui Ako to help raise student achievement. Changes also include Inquiry Time for teachers to learn from their colleagues, and support all schools within a Community of Learning | Kāhui Ako.

Details about the Principals Recruitment Allowance are also covered.

You can read the collective agreements below:

The process

Three groups including representatives from across the education sector have been set up to work with the Ministry.

  • The Advisory Group was formed with Working Group members and education academics, and meets regularly with the Ministry to continue developing the proposal. The Advisory Group provides strategic advice to the Ministry and workstreams. You can see the membership of the Advisory Group below
  • The Sector Reference Group allows teachers and principals to give practical feedback on how aspects of IES could work in schools, and provide advice to the workstreams
  • Focus Groups have been formed to look at particular aspects of IES. These groups will also advise the workstreams, and are made up of teachers and principals with knowledge and experience of specific areas.

Advisory Group members

The members of the Advisory Group are as follows:

Chair Iona Holsted Ministry of Education
Group members Lorraine Kerr New Zealand School Trustees' Association
  Lynda Stuart New Zealand Educational Institute Te Riu Roa
  Jack Boyle Post Primary Teachers’ Association
  Whetu Cormick New Zealand Principals’ Federation
  Michael Williams Secondary Principals’ Association of New Zealand
  Grant Burns New Zealand Area Schools Association
  Rawiri Wright Te Rununga Nui o Ngā Kura Kaupapa o Aotearoa
  Gary Sweeney Association of Intermediate and Middle Schooling
  Karl Vasau Pasifika Principals’ Association
  Prue Kelly New Appointments National Panel Chair
  Robyn Baker Teacher-led Innovation Fund Panel Chair
  Di Anderson Education Review Office
  Pauline Barnes Education Council
  Kathy Wolfe Te Rito Maioha Early Childhood New Zealand
Academic group members Professor Stuart McNaughton University of Auckland
  Dr Julie Mackey Dean of Education and Health Sciences, University of Canterbury
  Dr Jenny Poskitt Senior Lecturer, Institute of Education, Massey University
  Dr Cathy Wylie Chief Researcher, New Zealand Council for Educational Research

Ministry and NZEI agreement

Late in 2014, the Ministry of Education reached agreement with the NZEI on joint working parties (known as the Joint Initiative) to look at ways to further raise student achievement.

The context and agreed Terms of Reference for the process are linked below:

The Ministry and the NZEI have since been working together through the Joint Initiative to enable the primary sector to participate in Investing in Educational Success. The Joint Initiative has been a model of the collaborative behaviours that are needed to support Communities of Learning | Kāhui Ako.

A Heads of Agreement was also reached with NZEI which allowed bargaining for variations to the collective agreements during August 2015:

Six workstreams were established to help Communities of Learning | Kāhui Ako with their operations:

  • support staff
  • early learning
  • special education
  • Māori achievement
  • Pasifika achievement
  • professional learning and development. 

The workstreams, which commenced in August 2015, have reported back. Their reports can be found below:


Last reviewed: Has this been useful? Give us your feedback