Professional development in early learning

Professional development

SELO (Strengthening Early Learning Opportunities for children, whānau, families and communities) is a professional development programme to support early learning services. A facilitator will work with management and teachers/educators to support a shift in practice towards high quality management, teaching and learning.

SELO programmes

SELO is grouped into 3 programmes and a service can receive more than one type of SELO at any time.

Programme 1 provides in-depth professional development to strengthen governance and management practices and to support services to meet the licencing requirements.

Programme 2 focuses on community specific professional development to support services to be responsive to identity, language and culture. It is also available for certificated playgroups and for services with children/whānau with additional needs.

Programme 3 targets 7 focus areas within the early learning environment:

  1. Infants and toddlers
  2. Curriculum (including Te Aho Tukutuku/early mathematics and early literacy)
  3. Māori leadership
  4. Pacific leadership
  5. Leadership
  6. Communities of Learning | Kāhui Ako
  7. Digital technology

Professional development facilitators

We have a group of approved facilitators that can deliver professional development across the country. Opportunities to become one of our approved facilitators will be advertised on New Zealand Government Electronic Tenders Service(external link) website. 
For more information about the process, you can contact our National Office SELO Lead at ece.selo@education.govt.nz.

Accessing SELO

Early learning services are welcome to enquire about professional development support.

Early Learning Service TypeContact Information
Kōhanga Reo Please contact your district manager directly:
Te Kōhanga Reo National Trust contacts(external link)
Playcentres Please contact Playcentre Aotearoa directly:
Playcentre Aotearoa(external link)
 
  • Teacher-led services
  • Certificated playgroups
  • Certificated puna kōhungahunga
  • Home-based services
Please contact your regional Ministry SELO lead (see below).

Regional Ministry SELO leads

LocationSELO leadContact
Tai Tokerau

Sacha Cherrington

sacha.cherrington@education.govt.nz
09 436 8929

Auckland

Sarah Morrison

 

Ngawai Beazley

sarah.morrison@education.govt.nz
09 632 9528

ngawai.beazley@education.govt.nz
09 632 9579

Waikato

Terri Burridge

terri.burridge@education.govt.nz
07 858 7172
Bay of Plenty/Rotorua/Taupo

Renee Cleaver

renee.cleaver@education.govt.nz
07 349 8319
Hawke's Bay/Tairawhiti

Helen Keats

helen.keats@education.govt.nz
06 831 0660
Taranaki/Whanganui/Manawatū 

Sarah Brindle

sarah.brindle@education.govt.nz
06 350 9856

Wellington

Marnie Hainsworth

 

Angela Coutts

marnie.hainsworth@education.govt.nz
04 463 7575

angela.coutts@education.govt.nz
04 439 4629

Nelson/Marlborough/West Coast

Megan Edwards

megan.edwards@education.govt.nz
03 539 1528
Canterbury

Paul Habinshuti

paul.habinshuti@education.govt.nz
03 378 7522
Otago/Southland

Julie Croswell

julie.crosswell@education.govt.nz
03 471 5218

Last reviewed: Has this been useful? Give us your feedback