Weather closes schools in the South Island

There are currently fourteen schools and one early childhood service closed in the South Island as a result of the heavy snow.

Our local staff have been in contact with all schools/kura and ECEs in the region to provide them with advice and support if needed.

The best information will come from schools and early learning services themselves and parents and whānau are advised to check their school’s or early childhood service’s website or Facebook page or contact them directly for the latest information.

The decision to close remains that of the Board of Trustees for schools and Centre Managers/Owners for Early Learning services.  Our support is available as required.”

The closed schools/ECE’s are:

Wakatipu High School

Shotover Primary School

Remarkables Primary School

KingsView School

St Joseph’s School - Queenstown

Queenstown Primary School

Glenorchy School

Arrowtown School

Makarora School

Mararoa School

Mossburn School

Wanaka Primary School

Holy Family School

Hawea Flat School

The Key Playcentre

(next to Mararoa School)

Last reviewed: Has this been useful? Give us your feedback