Weather closes 28 schools and 11 ECE

There are currently 28 North Island schools and 11 early childhood services closed due to the weather.

The heavy rain and high winds has also resulted in a number of bus services in Taranaki and around Tolaga Bay being cancelled.

Our local staff have been in contact with all schools/kura and ECEs in the regions to provide them with advice and support if needed.

The best information will come from schools and early learning services themselves and parent’s and whānau are advised to check their school’s or early childhood service’s website or Facebook page or contact them directly for the latest information.

The decision to close remains that of the Board of Trustees for schools and Centre Managers/Owners for Early Learning services. Our support will be available for as long as it’s required.

School/ECE Closures

Bay of Plenty/Waiariki Region

Te Kura Mana Maori o Whangaparaoa School

Te Kohanga Reo o Whangaparaoa ECE



Tuturumuri School


Hawkes Bay/Tairawhiti Region

Te Karaka Area School

Te Whaarau School

Ilminister Intermediate School

Ormond School

Makauri School

Manutuke School

Ngatapu School

Muriwai School

Ngata Memorial College

Whangara School

TKKM Māngātuna

Waerenga O-Kuri School

Tikitiki School






Te Pohue School

Meeanee School

Tutira School

Patoka School

Pukehamoamoa School

Lucknow School

Omakere School



Ormond Kindergarten

Makauri Kindergarten

Paikea Kindergarten

Hatea a Rangi Playgroup

Te Kōhanga Reo o Tūraki Ao

Te Kōhanga Reo o Te Pāhou

TKR o Nuhaka

TKR of Whākirangi

TKR of Te Rau o te Oriwa

TKR te Kupenga o Te Huki (Pakipaki)




Westown Kindergarten

Last reviewed: Has this been useful? Give us your feedback