Education Funding System Review - next steps (November - early 2017)

Following sector feedback, the Minister of Education announced, on 18 November 2016, that the Ministry of Education is now taking a number of initial proposals for change to the education funding system, for early childhood education (ECE), ngā kohanga reo and schooling, to detailed design and testing.

The Review is part of the Government’s Education Work Programme for building a sustainable, fit for purpose education system that enables all young New Zealanders to achieve educational success.

There is a lot more work to do before final decisions are made on which, if any, of the proposals are implemented.

Cabinet Paper

A paper that went to Cabinet in October 2016 reported back on the outcome of the engagement with the sector and made recommendations for next steps:

Information withheld

Please note that some deletions have been made from the Cabinet Paper under the following sections of the Official Information Act 1982:

  • Section 9(2)(f)(iv) to maintain constitutional conventions which protect the confidentiality of advice tendered by Ministers of the Crown and officials.

In preparing this information release, the Ministry of Education has considered the public interest considerations in section 9(1) of the Official Information Act 1982.

Technical Reference Groups

To assist with this next phase of work, a number of topic-specific Technical Reference Groups, made up of education and sector experts, will advise on detailed design and inform further policy development.

Members of the groups will contribute to the Review, drawing on their technical knowledge, expertise and advice to assist in answering topic-specific questions that have arisen as part of the early policy development process.

Selection of members of the Reference Groups was based on their technical knowledge and expertise of the curriculum including learning areas, competencies, values, assessment and delivery of specific features of New Zealand’s education system.

 The Technical Reference Groups, and their objectives, are listed below:

Technical Reference GroupDesign objectives
Curriculum-based per child progress
  • Determine what’s needed to achieve and then to deliver a year’s progress for all learners against the curriculum
  • Move to child based funding (from place based) in early learning
Dealing with disadvantage
  • Replace the decile system
  • Determine the best ways to target funding for learners most at risk of underachievement
Small and Isolated
  • Define the criteria for small and isolated schools and services
  • Consider the role Communities of Learning|Kāhui Ako can play in mitigating the impacts of school size and isolation
  • Ensure the maintenance of school property in the best interests of students and staff
  • See if greater efficiencies can be made in school utilities spending
Using data to improve outcomes
  • Strengthening the line of sight between government education investment and the outcomes achieved by children and young people

Technical reference group participants

Name - CurriculumSchool or Service
Sarah Martin Stonefields School, Auckland
Nancy Mc Farlane Glenholme School
Scott Haines Waimea College
Kaylene MacNee Pinehaven School
Ngaire Harris Hauraki Plains College, Waikato
Russell Burt Pt England School, Auckland
Watson Ohia Te Wharekura o Ngā Taiātea
Uenuku Fairhall Te Kura Kaupapa Māori o Te Koutu
Lesley Murrihy Amesbury School, Wellington
Sheryll Ofner Selwyn College
Mary Chamberlain Director of Evaluation Associates & consultant
Rowan Brickell  (Expert Secretariat)
Cath Rau PSKH Hamilton
Mike Hollings Te Kura – Correspondence School
Name – Data to improve outcomesSchool or Service
Tony Kane Kapiti College
Andy Kai Fong Haeata Aranui Community Campus
Lorraine Taylor Lynmore Primary School, Rotorua
Frances Nelson Fairburn School, Otahuhu, Auckland
Irene Cooper Hillcrest School (retired)
Jill Farquharson Auckland Normal Intermediate
Lynda Stuart  NZEI
Jack Boyle PPTA
Nori Parata Tolaga Bay Area School
Dr. Gill Thomas Education Technology Ltd , Dunedin
Dr Michael Johnston Victoria University
Arihia Stirling Te Kura Maori o Nga Tapuwae
Tanya Harvey Auckland Kindergarten Association
Fiona Hughes BestStart Educare
Name - DisadvantageSchool or service
Anne Miles McAuley High School, Otahuhu
Dave Appleyard Rata St School,  Naenae
Allan Vester Edgewater College, Chair Secondary Principals’ Council
Clare Wells Chief Executive Officer, NZ Kindergartens Inc.
Dianne Pollard- Williams Melville Primary School Hamilton
Richard Edmundson Linwood College, Christchurch
Phil Heeney TKKM o Te Waiu o Ngati Porou
Brendon Morrissey Kaitaia Primary School, Northland
Cathy Chalmers Greenmeadows Intermediate, Auckland
John Murdoch Mana College, Wellington
Kararaina Cribb TKRNT
Iain Taylor New Zealand Prinicpals' Federation
Name – Small/IsolatedSchool or Service
Susan Bailey Co-president, Playcentre Federation
Gary Pasco Roxburgh Area School (composite)
Grant Burns Tauraroa Area School
Sean McDermott Bay of Islands International Academy
Lynley Ward Makarora Primary School
Louise Sheeran Principal (Acting), Piopio College, Waikato Region
Simon Fuller Opunake High School, Taranaki
Martin Mikaere Te Wharekura o Manaia (composite school – Māori  Medium Year 1-15 (Kura ā-Iwi))
Te Rahui August-Sutherland Te Whanau-a-Apanui
Henarata Ham Te Kura o Hirangi, Turangi

Ministerial Advisory Group

The Advisory Group, formed in May 2016, will be re-convened as a Ministerial Advisory Group from November 2016.  The Minister of Education will chair the new group.

The Ministerial Advisory Group brings together the same group of representatives from across early childhood education (ECE) and ngā kōhanga reo and schooling that were on the former Advisory Group.

The Ministerial Advisory Group will meet regularly to be updated by the Minister on work being progressed as part of the next stage of the review and to have the opportunity to provide feedback as it progresses. 

Related work

In addition to the Technical Reference Groups, the following proposals will also be progressed to the next stage of policy design and testing:

Proposal Design objectives

Learning Support
  • Determine how to best allocate funding to schools and Communities of Learning | Kāhui Ako to support learners needing additional learning support
Independent schools - to progress following the completion of the technical working groups
  • Determine a new funding formula

Sector Engagement

Updates on the review’s progress will be given at National and Regional Cross-Sector Forums held from February 2017.

We'll post a list of these forums here shortly.

Next Steps: Indicative Timeline

Nov 2016-early 2017  2017-2019  2020
Continued policy work to develop and test proposals, with support of Technical Reference Groups Engagement with Ministerial Advisory Group to further test directions of change Ongoing sector and public engagement on proposed changes Further policy development and testing of components for change. Cabinet agrees components for implementation Implementation of any new funding components to start

More information

Although this round of engagement has been completed, you can still email if you have any questions about the Review of Education Funding Systems for early childhood education (ECE) and ngā kōhanga reo, and schooling.

Last reviewed: Has this been useful? Give us your feedback